Changes to administrative division in Russia

According to the new law 163-FZ “On general principles of organization of local government in Russian Federation”, extra level of administrative division is introduced on municipality level for urban okrugs with inner-city division. Urban okrugs with inner-city division are further divided into inner-city rayons. Therefore a two-level municipal division is a further supported strategy. Its structure is now the following.

  • Municipal districts
    • Rural settlements
    • Urban settlements
    • Intersettlement territories
  • Urban okrugs
  • Urban okrugs with inner-city division
    • Inner-city rayons
  • Inner territories of cities of federal significance

Our product for municipality boundaries will include the updated division as territories will be officially given new status.